Category Archives: Live Blog

Saturday Live Blog – Utah @ UCLA

SCORES
Pac-12 Net
4:00 ET/1:00 PT

Ah, Utah and UCLA. One of my favorites. The unfortunate aspect of this rivalry over the last three seasons has been the road team throwing up an utter catastrophe on bars in the first rotation, deciding the meet and dulling any kind of competitive excitement after about three minutes of gymnastics before anyone has time to get interested. This is supposed be a close, back-and-forth affair (it’s Utah and UCLA), but we haven’t had that for a while, so…here’s hoping. No one is allowed to have a catastrophe until at least beam.

Today’s pre-meet discussion topic is Angi Cipra’s floor routine, which now that we’ve seen it four or five times, is taking on a new identity where the theme is the continued emotional bullying of Angi Cipra. Why do people keep hanging up on her so much? Prank calls are just mean, you guys. Does she have no friends? Do we have a clique problem at this school? She keeps being like, “Who’s calling me?????” and every time the whole team is like, “I don’t know…” Dicks. Don’t worry, Angi. It gets better.

Bars has been a good event for Utah so far this year, unless the curse of away bars continues, while vault has been lackluster for UCLA, so Utah will hope to have a multi-tenth lead after the first rotation. If UCLA is in any position better than a two-tenth deficit at that point, that bodes well for the Bruins, who should be better suited for success in the second half of the meet.
Continue reading Saturday Live Blog – Utah @ UCLA

Friday Live Blog – The Cult of SEC Scoring

Friday, February 5
6:30 ET/3:30 PT – Central Michigan @ Eastern Michigan – SCORESESPN3
7:00 ET/4:00 PT – Florida @ Georgia – SCORESSECN
7:00 ET/4:00 PT – Winona State @ UW-La Crosse – Stream
7:30 ET/4:30 PT – West Virginia @ Iowa State – SCORES
7:30 ET/4:30 PT – UW-Stout @ Hamline
8:00 ET/5:00 PT – Oklahoma, Auburn, Illinois State @ Texas Woman’s – SCORESFLOG
8:00 ET/5:00 PT – SEMO, Lindenwood @ Missouri – SCORESSECN
8:30 ET/5:30 PT – Kentucky @ Alabama – SCORESSECN
8:30 ET/5:30 PT – Arkansas @ LSU – SCORESSECN
9:00 ET/6:00 PT – Boise State @ Southern Utah – SCORESStream
10:00 ET/7:00 PT – San Jose State @ UC Davis – SCORES
10:00 ET/7:00 PT – Seattle Pacific @ Sacramento State – SCORESStream

Another Friday, another batch of exciting SEC meets. The real question is, now that the 10s have started flying again, who’s getting the first 10 of the Florida/Georgia meet: Brandie Jay on vault or Bridget Sloan on bars? Or will Sloan beat the odds and get a pre-meet 10 for just being so great.

It’s still early, but right now Georgia has maybe one score that would be OK to use for RQS (and even that 196.775 is not spectacular for a team with Georgia’s aspirations). If Georgia has hopes of being a top seed at a regional, which is going to require an RQS over 197, the margin for error is disappearing very quickly. Even without a win, a good score is critical.

Florida lineups:
VT – Caquatto, Fassbender, Sloan, Baker, Boren, McMurtry
UB – Baker, Boren, BDG, Caquatto, Sloan, 10y 10ington
BB – Baker, Ernst, Fassbender, Boren, McMurtry, Sloan
FX – McLaughlin, Fassbender, Boren, Sloan, Baker, Caquatto

So…the same. Why change at this point?

Ericha Fassbender already wins the award for the name that sounds most like a German gay slur. These are the things I think while waiting for gymnastics to start.
Continue reading Friday Live Blog – The Cult of SEC Scoring

Metroplex Live Blog

It’s Metroplex! 8:00 ET/5:00 PT, streamed on Aunt Flogymnastics for those who have signed up for the arm-and-a-leg subscription. For those who haven’t, let me be your guide. There are no windows and no doors.

Five teams compete tonight (Oklahoma, LSU, Stanford, Missouri, Washington) because nothing says compelling entertainment like a bye. If there’s one thing sports fans love, it’s when their favorite team just leaves for a while. They go crazy for it.

Obviously, the judges will have viewed the excessively baroque scoring from the Florida meet last night as a challenge. Do I hear four 10s per team? Everyone is a perfect star! Who wants a juice box and a hug?

Last night’s Florida meet was the cue that we’ve moved past the old “the silver lining is that we know what we have to work on” raggedy portion of the season, and it’s starting to get real. And 198ish. Florida looks goooood, and Alabama also put together its most complete meet of the season, setting the mark for the amount of playtime-is-over progression we need to see from Oklahoma and LSU. Oklahoma started on this path last weekend with an impressive mid-197, but it was hardly the best this team can do. Let’s see who else can crazy-198 all over the place.
Continue reading Metroplex Live Blog

Friday Live Blog – [5] Alabama @ [1] Florida; Auburn, Arkansas, Georgia’s Crazy Beam

Friday, January 29
6:00 ET/3:00 PT – Temple, Ursinus, Centenary @ West Chester
7:00 ET/4:00 PT – Alabama @ Florida – SCORESSECN
7:00 ET/4:00 PT – Michigan @ Nebraska – SCORESBTN2Go($)
7:00 ET/4:00 PT – Georgia @ Kentucky – SCORESSECN
7:00 ET/4:00 PT – Illinois @ Penn State – SCORESStream(free)
7:00 ET/4:00 PT – Hamline @ UW-Eau Claire
7:00 ET/4:00 PT – Gustavus Adolphus @ UW-Stout – SCORESStream
7:30 ET/4:30 PT – NC State, Lindenwood @ Iowa State – SCORES
7:30 ET/4:30 PT – UW-Whitewater @ SEMO – SCORES
7:30 ET/4:30 PT – Winona State @ UW-La Crosse
8:30 ET/5:30 PT – Auburn @ Arkansas- SCORESSECN
9:00 ET/6:00 PT – BYU @ Boise State
9:00 ET/6:00 PT – Southern Utah @ Utah State – SCORESStream
10:00 ET/7:00 PT – Texas Woman’s, William & Mary, Seattle Pacific @ San Jose State – SCORES
10:00 ET/7:00 PT – UC Davis @ Sacramento State

Alabama and Florida. We’re not goin’ for no city championships.

Dana has done a whole heap of depth exploring in the first couple meets, which I always support (unless it’s still going on in March and terrible), so it will be interesting to see how the lineups actually shake out today for a real showdown in which Alabama can’t really afford to use B-team routines. We should have a better idea of who’s in favor for late-season lineups and who is “such great depth and spirit,” especially on floor, based on today.

Or not. Floor lineup is Sims, Giancroce, Brannan, Winston, Bailey, Beers. So looks like we’re still in the exploring phase. Dana Duckworth is like a fantasy gym nightmare. Florida’s lineups remain intact.
Continue reading Friday Live Blog – [5] Alabama @ [1] Florida; Auburn, Arkansas, Georgia’s Crazy Beam

Saturday Live Blog – [5] UCLA @ Arizona

Saturday, January 23
1:00 ET/10:00 PT – Pennsylvania @ Yale
1:00 ET/10:00 PT ­ – Cornell @ Cortland
3:00 ET/12:00 PT – UCLA @ Arizona – SCORESPac-12
5:00 ET/2:00 PT – Oregon State @ Utah – SCORESPac-12
5:00 ET/2:00 PT – UW-Stout, UW-Eau Claire, UW-Oshkosh @ UW-Whitewater – Stream
6:00 ET/3:00 PT – Winter of our discontent @ Pittsburgh – SCORESStream
6:00 ET/3:00 PT – Alaska @ Bowling Green – SCORES
7:00 ET/4:00 PT – Rutgers @ Nebraska – SCORES
7:30 ET/4:30 PT – Michigan State @ Minnesota – SCORESBTN2Go
8:00 ET/5:00 PT – Washington @ Denver – SCORES
8:00 ET/5:00 PT – Ohio State @ Iowa
Today, the Pac-12 schools get their chance to head to the club and get all Ukrainian up in these here beam rotations, though the marks set by Georgia and Alabama yesterday will be pretty tough to beat. Alabama is the clubhouse leader with two falls and a routine-ending injury. Then again, 42% of Georgia’s beam routines so far this season have been falls, and 54% have scored under 9.700, so…
After yesterday’s Alabama performance, UCLA currently sits in 4th, having put together one of the more complete/least horrifying starts to the season so far, though they would need a 197.350 to move ahead of Michigan in the rankings and are susceptible to being passed by Utah depending how things go today.

The UCLA/Arizona and Oregon State/Utah meets will both be on the television box, back-to-back, like a real sport.
Continue reading Saturday Live Blog – [5] UCLA @ Arizona