NCAA Week 8 & Elite – Schedule and Links

Wednesday, February 24
Scores Stream
4:00pm ET/1:00pm PT – Arizona @ [17] Arizona State LINK FREE
Thursday, February 25
Scores Stream
10:00am ET/7:00am PT – Winter Cup – Senior Men Podium Training A N/A FLO
1:30pm ET/10:30am PT – Nastia Liukin Cup Podium Training N/A FLO
4:30pm ET/1:30pm PT – Winter Cup – Senior Men’s Podium Training B N/A FLO
6:00pm ET/3:00pm PT – UW-Eau Claire @ Hamline LINK FREE
Friday, February 26
Scores Stream
8:00am ET/5:00am PT – Winter Cup – Elite Team Cup (Junior Men) Podium Training N/A FLO
10:00am ET/7:00am PT – Winter Cup – Senior Women’s Podium Training N/A FLO
2:30pm ET/11:30am PT – Promising Young Nastia Cup LINK NBCSN
5:00pm ET/2:00pm PT – Big Five ([8] Minnesota, [19] Illinois, [21] Ohio State, Nebraska @ Maryland) LINK BTN+
6:00pm ET/3:00pm PT – New Hampshire, Towson @ LIU LINK FREE
6:00pm ET/3:00pm PT – UW-Stout @ Gustavus Adolphus   FREE
7:00pm ET/4:00pm PT – [2] LSU @ [14] Kentucky LINK SECN
7:30pm ET/4:30pm PT – Winter Cup – Senior Men Day 1 LINK NBCSN
7:30pm ET/4:30pm PT – Illinois State, Centenary @ SEMO LINK  
8:00pm ET/5:00pm PT – [10] Denver, Lindenwood, TWU @ [3] Oklahoma LINK FSOK
8:00pm ET/5:00pm PT – [7] Alabama @ [6] Arkansas LINK SEC+
8:00pm ET/5:00pm PT – [15] Georgia @ [23] Missouri LINK SEC+
8:30pm ET/5:30pm PT – [18] Auburn @ [1] Florida LINK SECN
9:00pm ET/6:00pm PT – [9] Cal @ [4] Utah LINK P12N
9:00pm ET/6:00pm PT – [22] Utah State @ [11] BYU LINK BYUTV
Saturday, February 27
Scores Stream
8:00am ET/5:00am PT – Winter Cup – Junior (and select seniors) Women’s Podium Training N/A FLO
12:30pm ET/9:30am PT – Winter Cup – Senior Women LINK NBC
2:00pm ET/11:00am PT – Oregon State @ [13] UCLA LINK P12N
2:00pm ET/11:00am PT – Big Five ([12] Iowa, Penn State, Michigan State, Rutgers @ [5] Michigan) LINK BTN+
3:00pm ET/12:00pm PT – Kent State @ Northern Illinois LINK NIU($)
3:00pm ET/12:00pm PT – San Jose State @ Stanford    
4:00pm ET/1:00pm PT – North Carolina, Temple @ [25] NC State   ACCN
5:00pm ET/2:00pm PT – Winona State @ UW-Whitewater LINK FREE
5:00pm ET/2:00pm PT – UW-Oshkosh @ UW-La Crosse   FREE
5:00pm ET/2:00pm PT – Winter Cup – Elite Team Cup (Junior Men) LINK FLO
8:00pm ET/5:00pm PT – [16] Southern Utah @ [20] Boise State LINK FREE
Sunday, February 28
Scores Stream
12:00pm ET/9:00am PT – Winter Cup – Junior (and select seniors) Women LINK FLO
2:00pm ET/11:00am PT – Bowling Green @ Central Michigan LINK ESPN+
2:00pm ET/11:00am PT – Centenary @ SEMO LINK  
3:00pm ET/12:00pm PT – Western Michigan @ Ball State LINK  
4:00pm ET/1:00pm PT – New Hampshire, Pittsburgh, Towson @ LIU   FREE
4:00pm ET/1:00pm PT – Arizona, TWU @ Air Force    
5:00pm ET/2:00pm PT – [17] Arizona State @ Washington LINK FREE
5:30pm ET/2:30pm PT – Winter Cup – Men’s (Junior & Senior) Day 2 LINK FLO
Monday, March 1
Scores Stream
7:30pm ET/4:30pm PT – West Virginia @ [24] Iowa State LINK ESPN+

Links will continue to be added as they become available.

NCAA Monday meets will not be included as part of week 8 for ranking purposes.

Stanford has canceled its intended Friday meet against Arizona and replaced it with a Saturday meet against San Jose State. Arizona instead joins the Air Force meet on Sunday.


Meets marked FLO may be streamed through a paid subscription to FloGymnastics ($30/month). It’s fine. We’re all fine.

Meets marked NBC will be broadcast live on TV for everyone in the US and can also be streamed at the link provided (US only).

Meets marked NBCSN will be broadcast live on TV and can also be streamed online at the link provided for those who have a log-in from a TV provider subscription that includes NBCSN.

Meets marked ESPN2 will be broadcast live on TV and can also be streamed online at the link provided for those who have a log-in from a TV provider subscription that gets ESPN, which is all of them.

Meets marked SECN will be broadcast live on TV on the SEC Network and can also be streamed online at the link provided for those who have a log-in from a TV provider subscription that includes the SEC Network.

Meets marked SEC+ may be streamed on WatchESPN for those who have a log-in from a TV provider subscription that includes the SEC Network.

Meets marked FSOK are broadcast live on Fox Sports Oklahoma and may be available for streaming at the link provided depending on your cable plan and region, but check availability beforehand to see if the meet shows up among your options because you may not be in a region that’s carrying it.

Meets marked ACCN may be streamed on WatchESPN for those who have a log-in from a TV provider that carries the ACC Network.

Meets marked ESPN+ may be streamed through a paid subscription to the ESPN+ streaming service ($5/month).

Meets marked P12N will be broadcast live on TV and can also be streamed online at the link provided for those who have a log-in from a TV provider subscription. The Pac-12 Network provides an international subscription for those outside the US.

Meets marked BYUTV will be broadcast live on TV on the BYU Network or streamed for free at the link provided.

Meets marked BTN+ may be streamed through a paid subscription to BTN+ ($15/month).

Meets marked [School] ($) require a subscription to that particular schools streaming service.

Meets marked FREE are free at the link provided.

20 thoughts on “NCAA Week 8 & Elite – Schedule and Links”

  1. This Saturday’s 3ET/12PT free stream of San Jose State @ Stanford may be one of the most interesting meets shown this season.

    For both teams, this will be their first meet in 12 months or so.

    Not sure when San Jose State started practicing, but they did post a masked team photo entitled “First Day of School” on January 27 (which is the day Stanford started training in their gym…so, less than a full month ago). Meets to date (prior to this Saturday’s meet) were canceled in order to have some training time for this season.

    QUESTION: Is one month of team practices in the gym enough preparation for an NCAA season?

    This may be one meet where we should just accept if there aren’t six people in some lineups, and if certain skills aren’t included yet, etc.

    Just hoping for a safe meet. Best wishes to both San Jose State and Stanford!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I don’t know if it’s enough. I wonder if they were training at club gyms at home, keeping up with conditioning, etc.

      I say this because our local clubs were zoom only from mid March 2020- beginning of June. Worked out until mid November and then went back to zoom until the second week of January. We did our first meet a month later, and while some of the routines were a little less difficult than we had originally planned, as a whole they did really well.

      There were definitely some who were not ready to compete any events, some who did only 2 or 3, and the rare one or two kids who had to drop down a level because they have simply lost too many skills (mainly, kips!).

      And there were others who came back stronger and less afraid. It was incredible to watch how high some of these girls bounced back.

      So yes, I agree, that meet will be interesting to watch for sure.

      Like

  2. When I initially saw FLO listed over and over in this week’s schedule/links…I thought: Oh no, is FLO $ taking over the NCAA broadcasts? Fortunately not (yet?)

    Like

  3. One good thing about NCAA is that I think the SEC and PAC could totally outrank Flo. They wrapped their way into the US elite schedule because the governing body is going broke. The major NCAA conferences are not and won’t put up with championships on a subscription service.

    Like

  4. ASU with a 197.45 today and a 196.8 NQS after this weekend. One more good road score and they have a great shot to be in the top 10 heading into post-season.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. We shall see.

      Other than Iowa, every team in the top 18 have breached 197 at least once.

      This is the first time ever to have 17 of the top 18 teams cracking 197.

      Either it is an incredible feat or just demonstrates the issues with the scoring system in that there are Carols judging all over the country.

      I do think that the depth in college gymnastics is incredible right now and that all 4 regionals will be exceptional because the competition extremely strong. If the post season occurs like in 2019 (no Covid changes) all regional super finals will be intense and counting a fall on any event from a top team will likely eliminate them from Nationals. Any of the top 18 could survive to the 8 teams competing at Nationals.

      Like

      1. Carol all over the country…. or….. this is the better way to actually cause change. When every conference will judge in the same inflated way, then you will have results like BYU, ASU, and Southern Utah seeded higher than traditional powerhouses. And then when the loose judging advantage is gone, what is left but home arena regionals advantage?

        Liked by 1 person

      2. How will the judging get fixed? That is laughable!

        Shamrockstar has it right.. the Caroling has been going on for years and not reeled in.

        Good on the second and third tier teams also joining in on the high scores. It’s about time. A lot of their routines actually deserve it!

        We definitely need to see some regional upsets. I am hoping several teams get knocked out and don’t make it to Nationals. It is good to know that Florida, Oklahoma, Utah, LSU are not guaranteed to make it to Nationals. They can afford a few minor mistakes but cannot afford to count a fall. Unless they are Georgia and will get a 201.650 even counting two beam falls.

        Like

      3. There was actually a rule change (hell if I can remember what it specifically was) that was put into place after the 2004 season in direct response to how nutty the scoring got that season (which coincidentally saw a lot of peasants break 197 for the first time). Scores were much lower in 2005 and took a while to creep back up. So there is precedent.

        Like

      4. After 2004 they lowered the starting score so in 2005 the scores were lower. But that didn’t last long. Especially once Kupets, McCool, Postell, Janiga, Vise, Heenan, Maloney, Schwikert etc started competing in the NCAA. This is because they were able to compete elite difficulty skills that other teams were unable to replicate. So the lowered start value was simply a band aid.

        The issues with the over scoring and inconsistency among judges has never been fixed and can never be fixed. The only chance of that happening would be if NCAA went with a modified open ended FIG elite scoring system, which it will never ever do. They rely on the 10.0 system and the fans love seeing 10.0 flashed.

        It is mostly because the NCAA gymnasts have gotten so much better and have pulled in former international elites who have competed at an international elite level. Even the difficulty in level 10 gymnasts has increased. Case in point: the number of 1 1/2 twisting yurchenkos we have witnessed the last few years. Ten years ago if you had 1 you were lucky. Now teams have multiple of these.

        Like

    2. It was a truly excellent meet for them. They had falls from Boyer on bars and Clark on beam, but otherwise they were pretty much performing at their potential.

      Like

    1. Except…I’ve been checking my BTN+ app and it’s not showing up on the schedule! I’ll be so mad if they don’t show it.

      Like

      1. Well since BTN is so lame, I’m going to take that as they just haven’t updated it yet. MSU gymnastics FB said it would be on BTN+ & I got a Michigan athletics email update at 6:30 saying the same. Keep your fingers crossed.

        Like

Comments are closed.