All posts by balancebeamsituation

NCAA Week 4 Preview

Full schedule and links

Marquee Meets

Metroplex Challenge

Saturday, January 25 – 7:00pm CT – FLO
[1] Oklahoma, [4] Denver, [5] Alabama, [18] Georgia

Grab your Ativan and an entire wedding cake because Metroplex is here again. On the heels of the “SHE WAS OVERSCORED TO A DEGREE BEYOND WHAT I EXPECTED, WHICH WAS ALREADY SOME” drama that followed…pretty much all of these teams last weekend, they now assemble at the Metroplex Challenge, a meet that is famous most of all for being the judges’ annual popping-off convention. So, it’s going to be an experience.

Continue reading NCAA Week 4 Preview

NCAA Week 4 – Schedule and Links

Friday, January 24
Scores Stream
6:00pm ET/3:00pm PT – Western Michigan @ Eastern Michigan LINK ESPN3
6:30pm ET/3:30pm PT – Rutgers @ [9] Michigan LINK BTN+
FLO
7:00pm ET/4:00pm PT – [12] Kentucky @ [19] Arkansas LINK SECN
7:30pm ET/4:30pm PT – [8] LSU @ [2] Florida LINK ESPN2
7:30pm ET/4:30pm PT – UW-Stout @ Winona State   FREE
7:30pm ET/4:30pm PT – Gustavus Adolphus @ Hamline    
8:00pm ET/5:00pm PT – [20] Missouri @ [14] Auburn LINK SEC+
8:00pm ET/5:00pm PT – Northern Illinois @ Illinois State LINK  
9:00pm ET/6:00pm PT – Arizona State @ [5] Utah   FREE
9:00pm ET/6:00pm PT – [15] BYU @ Southern Utah LINK FREE
10:00pm ET/7:00pm PT – George Washington, Sacramento State, Alaska @ UC Davis LINK FREE
Saturday, January 25
Scores Stream
1:00pm ET/10:00am PT – Rhode Island @ Yale   ESPN+
4:00pm ET/1:00pm PT – Oregon State @ [22] Arizona   FREE
4:00pm ET/1:00pm PT – Iowa @ Penn State LINK BTN
4:00pm ET/1:00pm PT – [11] Maryland, [23] Central Michigan @ Ohio State LINK BTN+
FLO
4:00pm ET/1:00pm PT – Towson @ NC State   ACCNX
4:00pm ET/1:00pm PT – Pittsburgh @ North Carolina    
5:00pm ET/2:00pm PT – UW-Whitewater @ UW-Eau Claire    
7:00pm ET/4:00pm PT – [17] Illinois @ [7] Minnesota LINK BTN+
FLO
7:00pm ET/4:00pm PT – Cortland @ Centenary    
8:00pm ET/5:00pm PT – Metroplex Challenge
[1] Oklahoma, [4] Denver, [5] Alabama, [18] Georgia
  FLO
8:00pm ET/5:00pm PT – Utah State @ Air Force   FREE
Sunday, January 26
Scores Stream
1:00pm ET/10:00am PT – Bowling Green, UW-La Crosse, SEMO @ Ball State    
1:00pm ET/10:00am PT – Rutgers @ Penn   ESPN+
1:00pm ET/10:00am PT – Bridgeport, Rhode Island @ Brown LINK  
1:00pm ET/10:00am PT – Cornell, Brockport, Springfield @ Southern Connecticut LINK FREE
1:00pm ET/10:00am PT – Ithaca, West Chester @ Ursinus   FREE
2:00pm ET/11:00am PT – [16] Nebraska @ Michigan State LINK BTN+
FLO
2:00pm ET/11:00am PT – New Hampshire, Temple @ West Virginia LINK FREE
3:00pm ET/12:00pm PT – Lindenwood, Kent State, UW-Oshkosh @ TWU    
5:00pm ET/2:00pm PT – [10] Cal @ [24] Washington LINK P12N
5:00pm ET/2:00pm PT – [21] Boise State, Seattle Pacific @ San Jose State LINK  
Monday, January 27
Scores Stream
10:00pm ET/7:00pm PT – [3] UCLA @ [25] Stanford   FREE

Links will continue to be added as they become available.

#13 Iowa State is idle this week.

Meets on Monday are not included as part of week 4 for ranking purposes, but I include them here because I won’t post links again until after they’re done.

Continue reading NCAA Week 4 – Schedule and Links

The 10s of Week 3

This week, 15 routines received a 10 from one judge. Interested in having a rage stroke? Watch (the ones we have) here.

The 10s

Maggie Nichols – Vault (Friday) – Oklahoma


Lexy Ramler – Beam – Minnesota


Kyla Ross – Bars – UCLA


Maggie Nichols – Vault (Monday) – Oklahoma


The 9.975s

Kiya Johnson – Floor – LSU


Maggie Nichols – Floor (Friday) – Oklahoma


Tiarre Sales – Beam – Minnesota

[Wasn’t included in the broadcast and haven’t seen video yet]


Kyla Ross – Beam – UCLA


Emi Watterson – Bars – Cal


Maggie Nichols – Beam (Monday) – Oklahoma


Maggie Nichols – Floor (Monday) – Oklahoma


The 9.950s

Ragan Smith – Bars (Friday) – Oklahoma


Ivy Lu – Beam – Minnesota


Audrey Barber – Bars – Maryland


The 9.925s

Hannah Joyner – Beam – Rutgers


Week 3 Rankings

Full rankings

1. Oklahoma Sooners

Average: 197.758
Previous ranking: 1

Oklahoma doubled down on the 198s this weekend, going 198.250 on Friday away and going 198.175 at home on Monday (which will be reflected in the week 4 rankings). Olivia Trautman returned on bars, and Maggie Nichols got the fourth 39.9+ AA score of her career. So, I mean, it’s OK I guess.


2. Florida Gators

Average: 197.100
Previous ranking: 2

Florida couldn’t quite match its opening meet score with the team’s first road performance, mostly because of an uncharacteristically medium bars rotation, but a strong second-half performance that featured Rachel Gowey tying her career-high on floor helped Florida remain the only other team with an average in the 197s.


3. UCLA Bruins

Average: 196.933
Previous ranking: 5

UCLA’s first complete hit (buoyed by the two-event return of Madison Kocian) helped the team gain two spots in the rankings this week with a 197.425, the second-highest peak score in the country. The eternal soap opera of these potential 10.0 starts on vault remains a weak spot with UCLA’s lowest rotation score coming there.


4. Denver Pioneers

Average: 196.900
Previous ranking: 3

Denver hit a season high 197.250 at Arkansas, though did drop a spot in the rankings because UCLA’s score was even higher. The no-falls streak continued, and some of those routines even got some friendly scoring crack, so you know Denver has truly arrived.


5. Utah Utes

Average: 196.713
Previous ranking: 4

Utah was idle this week and dropped a spot in the rankings by not being able to participate in the bacchanalia that is NCAA scoring.

Continue reading Week 3 Rankings

Monday Live Blog – January 20, 2020

Monday, January 20
Scores Stream
2:00pm ET/11:00am PT – [12] Iowa State @ [17] Georgia LINK SEC+
2:30pm ET/11:30am PT – Arkansas @ [1] Oklahoma LINK FSN
9:00pm ET/6:00pm PT – [22] Boise State @ [23] Washington LINK FREE

As I mentioned in…something?…somewhere?…I don’t get the Oklahoma home meets anymore, so I’m just focusing on Georgia/Iowa State today in the live blog. But I’ll be watching the scores for Oklahoma and going, “hmmm” at things in between rotations. You know, just like the bad old days.

Continue reading Monday Live Blog – January 20, 2020