US Nationals – Schedule, Links, PT Notes

Programming note: The first day of senior men was originally scheduled to be on NBCSN, but it got bumped for hockey. Now it will be live on the Olympic Channel and delayed on NBCSN later.

Thursday, June 3
Scores Stream
2:30pm ET/11:30am PT – Junior Men Day 1 LINK Flo
8:00pm ET/5:00pm PT – Senior Men Day 1 LINK OLY
Friday, June 4
Scores Stream
2:30pm ET/11:30am PT – Junior Women Day 1 LINK Flo
8:00pm ET/5:00pm PT – Senior Women Day 1 LINK NBCSN
Saturday, June 5
Scores Stream
2:30pm ET/11:30am PT – Junior Men Day 2 LINK Flo
8:00pm ET/5:00pm PT – Senior Men Day 2 LINK NBCSN
Sunday, June 6
Scores Stream
1:30pm ET/10:30am PT – Junior Women Day 2 LINK Flo
7:00pm ET/4:00pm PT – Senior Women Day 2 LINK NBC

The senior women had a second podium training session today after their first yesterday, and here’s what happened:

Jade Carey, the end. At the end of the floor warmup, Carey pulled out a layout triple double, landing it successfully on both attempts (stronger landing on the first than the second). So that’s a big new deal.

I wouldn’t immediately assume it for her routine (on both showings, she began her run from well outside the floor lines), but the first attempt in particular looked viable for actually-in-the-routine purposes, and the introduction of a new element means we get to return to my favorite topic: skill values.

I would anticipate that this element, if submitted and performed, gets a K value since Simone’s tucked triple double received a J, and you have to go higher than that since this one is laid out. Right? Riiiight?

That’s the “logical” value. I put “logical” in quotes because all back tumbling elements, particularly DLO elements, are overvalued with respect to front tumbling in the code and there’s a very viable argument that all of these values are too high, especially when we compare them to the double Arabian piked 1/2 out that Lorrane Oliveira may debut at Pan Ams this weekend, which is getting F. (If you want to make your “the FIG is discouraging innovation and greatness” argument…)

But even that “logical” K rating would betray the fundamental illogical nature of the entire code, wherein a double layout is an F, adding a twist to that garners 2 tenths to be an H, adding a twist to that garners 1 additional tenth to be an I, and then adding a twist to that would garner 2 additional tenths to be a K. So, which is it? Is an additional twist worth 1 or 2 tenths? Make it make sense.

-What else? On the first day of podium training Simone Biles took it easy and just casually tossed some Amanars out there, but today she went back to the double pike. She actually missed the first one, landing pretty short, but came back and hit two attempts after that, which looked equivalent to what we saw from her at Classic. Two weeks ago, she invented the Yurchenko double pike. Today, she invented the Anger Yurchenko double pike. At the end of the vault rotation, she also whipped out a Cheng.

Jordan Chiles also showed a second vault entry, working some Tsuk timers and doing a Tsuk full toward the end. I saw lots of DTYs but no Amanar attempts this time.

Chellsie Memmel took the opportunity to throw out two DTYs at the end of the vault rotation, trying to land one of them and successfully staying upright. We also saw the closest she has come to showing a full bars composition, performing Hindorff + Pak, Maloney + clear hip 1/2, giant full + Tkatchev. It’s looks like that is the composition intent, with a double front dismount at the end. She also kept the Arabian exactly where it was in her beam routine, so there.

Sunisa Lee showed her full 6.8 D score on bars on a couple occasions today, with the Maloney/Gienger connected right out of the Nabieva/Bhardwaj. This is the smoothest and most comfortable I’ve seen that combination look for her. I did also see a couple DTY attempts, and it sounds like she’s planning to compete floor as well, though still watering down the tumbling.

-Meanwhile, Konnor McClain promptly withdrew from the competition following her last-minute switch to WOGA.

Riley McCusker will be limited to only bars here after her vault issue at Classic. We saw her perform all of her intended elements on bars in training, though she did the double front 1/2 out dismount isolated from the rest of her routine. But it looked good. I’d accept that petition to trials.

Grace McCallum spent some time with the DLO 1/1 on the first day of podium training, which she did not compete at Classic, and worked more on the double double on floor today.

-In under-the-radar developments, Emma Malabuyo showed a pretty nice DTY to go along with the competitive bars and beam she performed at Classic.

Leanne Wong did attempt the Ray dismount on bars, but tucked the second salto in a way that would not receive layout credit. Interested to see what she goes for.

-In the “is she doing bars?” club, Laurie Hernandez showed one full bars routine here, ending with a double tuck dismount. Morgan Hurd again attempted some bits and pieces but I did not see a full bars routine from her.


Keep in mind that there is a metric crap-ton going on this week, so I’ll repost the full-ish event schedule.

Thursday, June 3
4:00am ET/1:00am PT – Cairo World Cup, Women’s Q, Day 1
10:00am ET/7:00am PT – Cairo World Cup, Men’s Q, Day 1
10:30am ET/7:30am PT – German Women’s All-Around
2:00pm ET/11:00am PT – US Junior Men, Day 1
7:30pm ET/4:30pm PT – US Senior Men, Day 1

Friday, June 4
4:00am ET/1:00am PT – Cairo World Cup, Women’s Q, Day 2
8:30am ET/5:30am PT – German Men’s All-Around
10:00am ET/7:00am PT – Cairo World Cup, Men’s Q, Day 2
1:00pm ET/10:00am PT – Men’s Pan Ams Olympic Qualification begins
2:00pm ET/11:00am PT – US Junior Women, Day 1
3:30pm ET/12:30pm PT – Men’s Pan Ams (USA/Brazil subdivision)
7:30pm ET/4:30pm PT – US Senior Women, Day 1
11:00pm ET/8:00pm PT – Japan Event Championships Qualifying Part 1

Saturday, June 5
1:40am ET/10:40pm PT – Japan Event Championships Qualifying Part 2
5:30am ET/2:30am PT – German Event Finals, Day 1
8:00am ET/5:00am PT – French Men’s & Women’s All-Around
8:30am ET/5:30am PT – Women’s Pan Ams Olympic Qualification begins
10:00am ET/7:00am PT – Cairo World Cup Event Finals, Day 1
2:00pm ET/11:00am PT – US Junior Men, Day 2
3:30pm ET/12:30pm PT – Women’s Pan Ams (Brazil subdivision)
7:30pm ET/4:30pm PT – US Senior Men, Day 2
10:20pm ET/7:20pm PT – Japan Event Championships Finals Part 1

Sunday, June 6
1:20am ET/10:20pm PT – Japan Event Championships Finals Part 2
5:30am ET/2:30am PT – German Event Finals, Day 2
8:00am ET/5:00am PT – French Event Finals
9:00am ET/6:00am PT – Pan Ams Event Finals
10:00am ET/7:00am PT – Cairo World Cup Event Finals, Day 2
1:00pm ET/10:00am PT – US Junior Women, Day 2
6:30pm ET/3:30pm PT – US Senior Women, Day 2

As for watching…

Pan Ams will be streaming HERE.

It sounds like German Nationals are streaming HERE (I’m assuming geoblocked).

The French federation says nationals will stream on its YouTube.

Presumably the Cairo finals will stream on the Olympic Channel since they always do, but there’s also possible qualification streaming on their YouTube.

In the latest EQUIPMENT WARS development, Melanie De Jesus Dos Santos will not be competing at French nationals because it will be on Gymnova, and she doesn’t want to have to get used to that and then change gears again for the Olympics.

Meanwhile, Jessica Lopez will not be competing at Pan Ams after all. Sigh.

10 thoughts on “US Nationals – Schedule, Links, PT Notes”

  1. man this was a LOT of new developments so crazy. i actually was thinking the other day that Emma Malabuyo may be able to capitalize on others not being at 100% in time for trials. I’m not saying she’s a lock or anything, but some clean routines coming up and she could definitely be in alternate territory, whereas this whole quad i would have thought she’d be out of the picture. And Konnor to WOGA? what exactly does that mean? focusing on worlds/next quad instead with new coaches? And Jade’s new pass, hmm homegirl is going after a floor medal in tokyo for sure haha

    Like

    1. I don’t know that the triple double layout will be attempted at the Olympics. It is a cool pass, but she’s landing very low and on a safety mat. Also she is starting the run for that tumbling line way outside of the corner boundaries. We have to see it as a pass within the confines of the OOB lines in order to see if it is competition ready.

      Like

  2. That was a great pass from Carey. It had some issues fore sure. What do we think? Is it worth it?

    Like

  3. This EQUIPMENT WARS (as Spencer puts it) crap is incredible. But I suppose we wouldn’t want legit medal contenders like Becky Downie and MDJDS to be getting badly needed competition experience on the right equipment, would we?

    Like

  4. Very excited for Nationals!! Hoping the GAGE girls can get back on track. I am also pulling for Suni to get a huge score for her confidence; she’s been through so much. Hoping for more coverage of realistic contenders (i.e. DiCello) and less of athletes who, while great stories, are not in contention for Tokoyo (i.e. Hurd, Memmel, Hernandez, etc.). Of course I’ll take getting to see any gymnastics though. These girls are amazing! 🙂

    Like

  5. These are more links for German national championships streams:
    https://www.zdf.de/sport/die-finals
    https://www.ardmediathek.de/sport/
    https://www.sportschau.de/die-finals/videostream—die-finals–mehrkampffinale-der-turnerinnen-ab–uhr-100.html

    “Die Finals” is a multi-sport competition and is streamed through the national television’s streaming services. There are two national TV channels in Germany (ARD and ZDF) and the TV coverage alternates each day between the two of them. Thursday is ZDF, Friday is ARD and so on. You can still catch the online streams on either one of their streaming services or on sportschau.de. They are geoblocked since they are funded by German taxes, but they are not heavily protected, so you can still catch them easily with a free vpn.

    Like

  6. Regardless of what the Powers that Be decide that Carey is eligible for in terms of the Tokyo team, this is exactly why she should be competing at Trials. It’s both the Olympic Team Trials and the Olympic Trials – for people like Biles and Carey, getting an additional competition to try new skills is really important for Olympic success, even if a team spot isn’t on the line.

    Like

  7. Wow, have we ever gone into a national championships before with so much uncertainty about what skills gymnasts will/won’t be competing and who’s peaking now/waiting to peak at trials? Besides Simone and Jade, there are no locks. It will all depend on these two days of championships and two days of trials.

    Based on US Classic results, it would seem to me the best strategy is to hit 8/8 clean routines even if means leaving out some difficulty. The amount of inconsistency we saw at Classic would lead me to believe that we will still see falls across the board but maybe Classic was just a fluke. Still, a gymnast who hits 8/8 will be in a very solid place going into trials. Someone like Malabuyo or Hurd going 8/8 when everyone else has a Classic-type day will raise their stock considerably.

    Regarding the value of the triple double layout, it’s impossible to guess what they’d rate it. The value of an extra full twist is either 0.1, 0.2 or 0.3 depending on which skill you’re talking about. Moors’ eponymous skill was treated identically to Biles’ beam dismount when her double double layout only got a 0.1 difficulty increase over the full-twisting double layout. At the same time, the double-double and triple-double tucked have 0.3 and 0.2 increases…

    You can make the argument that the Moors should have been a J, which would make Carey’s skill an L. Or you could make the argument that the Chusovitina should only be a G, making the Moors correctly valued at an I and Carey’s skill a K. Either way, they can’t go lower than a K without major backlash since the triple-double tucked is already a J – UNLESS the FIG’s WTC establishes some arbitrary cap of J for all skills. They’ve created a mess of a code with no way to value new skills anymore.

    Like

  8. Aaaaand Brit Gym has completed its vendetta against Becky Downie by excluding the UK’s only remaining genuine medal contender from the team.

    Like

Comments are closed.