The Balance Beam Situation

Because gymnastics is a comedy, not a drama

Regional Championship Headquarters

Tomorrow, you will all be compelled to participate in the annual gymnastics tradition that is Ironman Regionals. It’s seven straight hours of frenetic gymnastics watching, multitasking-based panic attacks, third-person auditory hallucinations, spontaneous Miss Val impressions, alcoholism, narcolepsy, uncontrollable blindness spells, dislocated bladders, and ultimately acceptance, during which you will need to commandeer all adjacent devices while clinging to the pipe dream that you’ll actually be paying attention at the right time when something important happens. 

As part of that pipe dream, I’ve put together my annual combined rotation schedule for all the meets, providing a rough estimate of when each team should be competing on each event for all your circling and highlighting and browser-window-prioritization needs. I allow 30 minutes per rotation, which usually ends up being close to accurate in most locations because of all the marching and the waiting and the byes. Oh god, the byes. There’s always a location or two that ends up slow as molasses for no reason and gets behind schedule, but this should be a relatively close overview of the timing.

Yeah, Oklahoma, Florida, Alabama, Michigan, and Oregon State are all on beam at the same time. This is well planned. 6:00-7:00 ET is going to be a hellscape.

And now…the meets! Here’s everything you could possible need to know. I’ll add links as they become available. Teams have not been on top of it with the scoring links so far…

2016 Regional Championships

4:00 ET/1:00 PT – Athens, GA Regional
[3] LSU, [9] Georgia, [14] Oregon State, [22] Arizona, [27] George Washington, [36] Michigan State
Preview
Live scores
Live stream
Score sheet/projected lineups/RQSs:

5:00 ET/2:00 PT – Iowa City, IA Regional
[1] Oklahoma, [12] Nebraska, [13] Arkansas, [19] Iowa, [30] Kent State, [35] Central Michigan
Preview
Live scores
Live stream (four-event view)
Live stream (vault)
Live stream (bars)
Live stream (beam)
Live stream (floor)
Score sheet/projected lineups/RQSs:

5:00 ET/2:00 PT – Minneapolis, MN Regional
[2] Florida, [11] Denver, [16] Minnesota, [20] Missouri, [28] Ohio State, [31] BYU
Preview
Live scores
Live stream
Score sheet/projected lineups/RQSs:

5:00 ET/2:00 PT – Tuscaloosa, AL Regional 
[4] Alabama, [10] Cal, [15] Boise State, [21] Kentucky, [26] West Virginia, [34] Bowling Green
Preview
Live scores 
Live stream
Score sheet/projected lineups/RQSs:

6:00 ET/3:00 PT – Ann Arbor, MI Regional
[6] Auburn, [7] Michigan, [18] Stanford, [24] Eastern Michigan, [25] Penn State, [33] New Hampshire
Preview
Live scores
Live stream
Score sheet/projected lineups/RQSs:

8:00 ET/5:00 PT – Salt Lake City, UT Regional
[5] Utah, [8] UCLA, [17] Washington, [23] Southern Utah, [29] Illinois, [32] Utah State
Preview
Live scores
Live stream
Live stream (vault)
Live stream (bars)
Live stream (beam)
Live stream (floor)
Score sheet/projected lineups/RQSs:

%d bloggers like this: