The Balance Beam Situation

Because gymnastics is a comedy, not a drama

Olympic Links and Session Previews

US times and US streaming links.

Wednesday, July 21
6:30am ET/3:30am PT – Men’s Podium Training
United States
STREAM
It’s men’s podium training. They’ll do a couple skills. The exciting part is that this will signal the ACTUAL OLYMPICS being ACTUALLY HERE. Brody Malone’s absence from a streamed training session earlier in the camp process provoked some concern over his status, so this will be the test for whether that was nothing or something.
Thursday, July 22
2:10am ET/11:10pm PT – Women’s Podium Training
United States
STREAM
Typically, anticipation for US women’s podium training is based mostly on it being the opportunity to see who gets to do the all-around in qualification and who doesn’t, and then have a meltdown about that. With everyone getting to do the all-around in qualification this time, it’s more about the actual routine content (Yurchenko double pike? What passes is Lee doing on floor? Is Carey going to try the triple double?) and somewhat about the performance order and what that might tell us about the team final (i.e., where is McCallum in the order, and does that indicate what she’ll be called on to do?).
Friday, July 23
9:00pm ET/6:00pm PT – Men’s Subdivision 1
Russia, China, Ukraine, Spain
McClenaghan, Zonderland, Deurloo, Srbic, Shatilov, Dolgopyat, Dragulescu, Georgiou, Koudinov, Jessen, Loo, Mohamed
STREAM
While Russia and China will qualify to the team final easily, eyes will be on the physical stability of Russia in this session as the controversial move to put Abliazin onto the team in place of Kartsev means that Russia will be relying on Abliazin to produce a counting floor routine. Abliazin has not competed a floor routine in nearly a full quad. The race to see which Chinese athletes make the all-around final (Xiao and Sun favored, but definitely not guaranteed) will be a tight one, and this subdivision also presents the moment of truth for a number of big-name individuals as we’ll see McClenaghan try to get into the pommel horse final, as well as if Zonderland’s reports of his own demise have been exaggerated or not.
Saturday, July 24
1:30am ET/10:30pm PT – Men’s Subdivision 2
Japan, Switzerland, Great Britain, Brazil
Petrounias, Karimi, Shek, Davtyan, Petrov, Gonzalez, Le, Dinh, Corral, Cournoyer, Bull, Rumbutis, Huddleston, Eke
STREAM
Japan begins its quest to win team gold at home, and at this point we will have already seen Russia and China so should have some solid basis for comparison. Great Britain’s selection of Whitlock for the team was done in the interest of individual events, but we’ll see how that affects the team score across the other apparatuses for a country that should theoretically be one in the group of “well, I guess if something happens…” contenders. Switzerland’s team may be more complete this time around. 
6:30am ET/3:30am PT – Men’s Subdivision 3
United States, Taiwan, South Korea, Germany
Yulo, Colak, Arican, Onder, Asil, Ait Said, Tommasone, Frasca, Lodadio, Edalli, Tvorogal, Tikhonov, Heggemsnes, Abdurakhimov
STREAM
US CAM
The United States team, which is expected to finish 4th here, will headline the final subdivision, looking to prove that they are closer to the medal teams than most of us think they are. Some major event contenders will be in action here, including Yulo on floor, Colak on rings, and Lee CK on pommel horse, plus we’ll get to see how 2012 vault champion Yang Hak Seon is looking. 
9:00pm ET/6:00pm PT – Women’s Subdivision 1
Japan, Italy
Varinska, Magistrati, Derek, Vidiaux, Holasova, Ting, Nekrasova, Tan, Nayak, Rutty
STREAM
EVENTS
The Japanese women got no home benefit at all with their placement in the first subdivision, but the comparison with Italy here will be critical. Despite Italy’s 2019 bronze medal, the composition of the teams this year points to Japan being the stronger squad. If Japan is to play any kind of spoiler role, the team will absolutely have to be better than Italy in this subdivision. Floor is also key here. Murakami and Ferrari will both expect to make that final and will have to get the kind of scores that hold up for the whole day. 
10:50pm ET/7:50pm PT – Women’s Subdivision 2
Russia, China, Great Britain
Rooskrantz, Hämmerle, Ryan, Daries, Gehani
STREAM
EVENTS
The big one. You’ll be drowning in two-per-country drama. Russia has Listunova, Melnikova, and Urazova on a pretty level playing field all aiming for the AA final, while every member of China’s team could end up as a top-2 all-arounder for them depending on the day (based on average score this year, Zhang, Lu, and Tang are all within a tenth, while if Ou hits, she can be the best one), not to mention China’s five-way race to make the beam final. Somewhat overlooked in this group is that Great Britain should have its own fight for spots in the all-around final with all four capable of getting there with hits.
Sunday, July 25
2:10am ET/11:10pm PT – Women’s Subdivision 3
United States, Netherlands
Iordache, Holbura, Godwin, Whitehead, Martins, Mokosova, Francis, Sasnal, Castro, Savranbasi, Orrego
STREAM
EVENTS
US CAM
The US will solve its two-per-country questions here, with the clashes to make the all-around final (Lee vs Chiles…one would think?) and the vault final (Skinner vs Carey once and for all) looming particularly large, but floor is also lurking as a probable free-for-all. The Netherlands is one of the bubble teams attempting to make the team final against many of the teams in subdivisions 4 and 5 so will have to set a strong mark the others can’t catch. For the individuals, we’ll see what finals Iordache might make and how she shapes up in terms of all-around scores as one of the top…10ish?…contenders there.
4:05am ET/1:05am PT – Women’s Subdivision 4
France, Canada, Spain
Steingruber, Chusovitina, Raz, Abdul Hadi, Alvarado
STREAM
EVENTS
Most of the major medal favorites will have competed in the first three subdivisions, so in these later groups the race to make the team final will be the focus. Based on average scores this year, France and Canada would rank as the #7 and #8 teams in the world, so technically favored to make the team final, but only barely in a very close race. Chusovitina also competes in this group, hoping to make yet another Olympic vault final. She’s going to have to pull out her good ones to do it.
7:20am ET/4:20am PT – Women’s Subdivision 5
Belgium, Germany
Andrade, Saraiva, Moreno, Kovacs, Yeo, Lee, Adlerteg, Mohamed, Ibrahim, Erichsen, Traukova
STREAM
EVENTS
Belgium and Germany are also in contention to make the team final, but probably on the outside looking in right now. Helpfully, we’ll know what they have to score and whether it looks possible before this subdivision begins. With Derwael and Seitz competing in this group, the bars race won’t be settled until right at the end, and vault could be shaken up as well with Moreno and Yeo here as individuals. Andrade and Saraiva will both be aiming for multiple finals, and with Andrade as one of the top-scoring all-arounders in the world this year, it will be worth keeping an eye on how her score compares to the qualified AAers from Russia and China.
Monday, July 26
6:00am ET/3:00am PT – Men’s Team Final STREAM
EVENTS
US CAM
 
Tuesday, July 27
6:45am ET/3:45am PT – Women’s Team Final STREAM
EVENTS
US CAM
 
Wednesday, July 28
6:15am ET/3:15am PT – Men’s All-Around Final STREAM
EVENTS
US CAM
 
Thursday, July 29
6:50am ET/3:50am PT – Women’s All-Around Final STREAM
EVENTS
 
Sunday, August 1
4:00am ET/1:00am PT – Men’s Floor Final STREAM
 
4:55am ET/1:55am PT – Women’s Vault Final STREAM
 
5:44am ET/2:44am PT – Men’s Horse Final STREAM
 
6:27am ET/3:27am PT – Women’s Bars Final STREAM
 
Monday, August 2
4:00am ET/1:00am PT – Men’s Rings Final STREAM
 
5:00am ET/2:00am PT – Women’s Floor Final STREAM
 
5:54am ET/2:54am PT – Men’s Vault Final STREAM
 
Tuesday, August 3
4:00am ET/1:00am PT – Men’s Parallel Bars Final STREAM
 
4:48am ET/1:48am PT – Women’s Beam Final STREAM
 
5:37am ET/2:37am PT – Men’s High Bar Final STREAM
 

%d bloggers like this: