The Weekend Ahead – January 4th–6th

Well, then. Here we are. Another season has arrived. We are a mere one day away from a piping hot cup of NCAA gymnastics. If you’re looking to get in the mood on the eve of competition, might I recommend re-watching last year’s Super Six?

This first weekend is a bit sparse with meets (see schedule below), but that’s fine because it allows us all time to adjust to our new ways of life gradually without being bombarded by having six meets to follow at the same time. Five of the top ten teams will be in action Friday, and I’ll be here with a scoring post, popping in periodically with completely unfounded reactions to scores. Feel free to join in and provide your own comments.

The showpiece of the weekend is the Saturday afternoon meet between Oklahoma and Georgia. I’ll be here for my first live blog of the season for that contest, and I’m quite eager to see how this one plays out. I think the Sooners are the favorite, but are they enough of a favorite to win away at Georgia? Watch especially for the composition of the Georgia lineup. How much Tanella, how much Persinger, how much Rogers? It will be telling. I’d like to see a lot of the freshmen and sophomores.

On Sunday, I’ll be back with another live blog for the Southern Utah @ UCLA meet. It shouldn’t be so much a question of who wins (though it was last time they faced each other) as who competes for UCLA and whether they can hit beam in the first meet this time. Remember that UCLA’s free live streams are now through the Pac-12 network site instead of all-access. For those who receive the Pac-12 network, the meet at Cal will be available on delay at some point, so look for that if you’re interested.

Top 25 Schedule

Friday – 1/4/13
7:00 ET/4:00 PT – Ball State @ [3] Florida
8:00 ET/5:00 PT – [22] NC State @ [8] LSU
8:00 ET/5:00 PT – Cancun Classic – [9] Oregon State, [10] Michigan, BYU
10:00 ET/7:00 PT – [6] Stanford, UC Davis, Sacramento State @ San Jose State

Saturday – 1/5/13
4:00 ET/1:00 PT – [4] Oklahoma @ [11] Georgia
4:00 ET/1:00 PT – [14] Ohio State @ Bowling Green
8:00 ET/5:00 PT – [16] Penn State, Lindenwood @ [20] Denver 

Sunday – 1/6/13
5:00 ET/2:00 PT – Southern Utah @ [2] UCLA
5:00 ET/2:00 PT – [13] Auburn, [19] Arizona, [25] Kentucky @ Cal

One thought on “The Weekend Ahead – January 4th–6th”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s