The Weekend Ahead — January 18-21

Our #1 team, UCLA, has a bye this weekend, so the #1 ranking will be up for grabs for any top team that feels like 197ing. Now that the barrier for 197s has been broken for the season, I expect those scores to begin flowing. I would not be surprised to see three or four this weekend. To take the #1 ranking (or at least pass UCLA), Michigan would need another 196.900, Alabama would need 197.150, Oklahoma and Florida would need 197.225, Nebraska would need 197.300, and LSU would need 197.425.

We have a wonderful Friday hodgepodge featuring six of the top ten teams. I’ll be around and blogging for the majority of the earlier meets. There are so many options (including multiple streams) that I probably won’t stay on one meet for too long, but we’ll all bop around and help each other keep apprised of the goings on.

Michigan has another Saturday afternoon meet, and Utah host Oregon State among others that evening. Even though it’s early in the season, Oregon State already seems in urgent need of a 196. It wouldn’t hurt the Utes to show they can hit bars either.

Monday is a holiday, and what better way to spend it than with gymnastics? I will hopefully be live blogging that Stanford/Georgia meet as well. We’ll see.

I picked Florida for the highest score last weekend and totally missed, which means the Gators will definitely record the highest score this week, but I’m not picking them on principle. I think we’re going to see a performance from Alabama similar to what we saw from UCLA last Saturday, so I’m going with the Tide.  

Top 25 Schedule

Friday – 1/18/13
7:00 ET/4:00 PT – Missouri @ [3] Florida
7:00 ET/4:00 PT – [9] Arkansas @ [14] Kentucky
7:00 ET/4:00 PT – [16] Central Michigan @ Ball State
7:00 ET/4:00 PT – [19] NC State @ New Hampshire
7:30 ET/4:30 PT – [24] Auburn @ [8] Georgia
8:00 ET/5:00 PT – [11] Denver @ [3] Oklahoma
8:30 ET/5:30 PT – [5] LSU @ [6] Alabama
10:00 ET/7:00 PT – [17] California, UIC, UC Davis @ Washington

Saturday – 1/19/13
4:00 ET/1:00 PT – Illinois @ [2] Michigan
4:00 ET/1:00 PT – Iowa @ [21] Ohio State
7:00 ET/4:00 PT – Michigan State @ [7] Nebraska
7:00 ET/4:00 PT – [12] Minnesota, Kent State, Towson @ Penn State
7:00 ET/4:00 PT – [17] Maryland, Temple, Cornell @ Pittsburgh
8:00 ET/5:00 PT – [13] Arizona, [25] BYU, UW-Whitewater @ Texas Women’s
9:00 ET/6:00 PT – [20] Southern Utah, [22] West Virginia, [23] Oregon State @ [15] Utah

Monday – 1/21/13
2:00 ET/11:00 PT – [10] Stanford @ [8] Georgia

Note: The Georgia/Stanford meet on Monday will not technically count as part of this weekend so will not be included in the next edition of the rankings.

2 thoughts on “The Weekend Ahead — January 18-21”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s