Regional Selection

The Regional Selection Show gets underway here at 3:00 ET/12:00 PT.

Why we need a selection show to tell us what we essentially already know (except for the assignments to the Ohio State and West Virginia Regionals) is beyond me, but it gives everyone something to tweet about, I suppose. I contend they should spent less time organizing selection shows and more time thinking about the postseason format and how it’s awful, but maybe that’s just me.

We have six regional championships:
Florida (6:00 ET/3:00 PT)
Oklahoma (5:00 ET/2:00 PT)
Alabama (7:00 ET/4:00 PT)
Oregon State (7:00 ET/4:00 PT)
Ohio State (6:00 ET/3:00 PT)
West Virginia (6:00 ET/3:00 PT)

(Please note the absolutely terrible timing of these regionals. They’re all at the same time, which is extremely fan unfriendly.)

And 36 teams to be placed:
1. Florida
2. Oklahoma
3. Alabama
4. Georgia
5. Michigan
7. LSU
8. Nebraska
9. Utah
10. Oregon State
11. Stanford
12. Minnesota
12 Part 2: Auburn
14. Penn State
15. Denver
16. Arkansas
17. Illinois
18. Arizona
19. Kentucky
20. Ohio State
21. Boise State
22. Washington
23. Kent State
24. Maryland
24 Part 2: Central Michigan
26. West Virginia
27. Iowa
28. Arizona State
29. Bridgeport
30. BYU
31. NC State
32. Cal
33. North Carolina
34. Southern Utah
35. Iowa State
36. Pittsburgh

Here’s how it will play out in twelve days:
Florida Regional: [1] Florida, [12] Minnesota, [12] Auburn, Maryland, Bridgeport, Pittsburgh
Oklahoma Regional: [2] Oklahoma, [11] Stanford, [14] Penn State, Washington, Iowa, Southern Utah
Alabama Regional: [3] Alabama, [9] Utah, [15] Denver, Kent State, BYU, Iowa State
Oregon State Regional: [4] Georgia, [10] Oregon State, [16] Arkansas, Boise State, Arizona State, Cal
West Virginia Regional: [5] Michigan, [8] Nebraska, [17] Illinois, Kentucky, West Virginia, North Carolina   
Ohio State Regional: [6] UCLA, [7] LSU, [18] Arizona, Ohio State, Central Michigan, NC State

It’s not surprising that UCLA and LSU go to Ohio State since LSU and Ohio State are both technically in the Central region. Plus, otherwise the Ohio State Regional would have been too Big Ten heavy.

So there’s that. We have a few third seeds that could cause some damage, but no teams should be that disappointed. The Ohio State Regional is probably the deepest.

(It turns out that the breaker in the event of a tie is the best seventh score, not the season average.)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s