Category Archives: Live Blog

Friday Live Blog – February 12, 2021

Friday, February 12
Scores Stream
6:00pm ET/3:00pm PT – [6] Alabama @ [13] Georgia LINK SECN
6:00pm ET/3:00pm PT – George Washington, William & Mary @ Towson LINK FREE
7:00pm ET/4:00pm PT – [5] Arkansas @ [15] Kentucky LINK SEC+
7:00pm ET/4:00pm PT – [25] NC State @ [23] North Carolina LINK FREE
7:00pm ET/4:00pm PT – GymQuarters (Ball State, Eastern Michigan, Air Force, Illinois State, Lindenwood, SEMO)   FLO
7:30pm ET/4:30pm PT – [1] Florida @ [2] LSU LINK SECN
9:00pm ET/6:00pm PT – [19] Auburn @ Missouri LINK SECN
9:00pm ET/6:00pm PT – [11] BYU @ [18] Southern Utah LINK FREE

Starting with the one that started it all, Alabama/Georgia. I would like the Suzanne statue to do commentary on this meet.

Georgia’s mid-week tentative lineups have Magee on only beam. Bars looking fairly full. But those should always be treated as vague guidelines.

Latest meet news is that Stanford has canceled the Feb 20 meet against Arizona State. Stanford’s season opener is now slated for February 26th with 5 meets on the schedule, 2 away. You only need 4 meets with 2 away to get a ranking, so that’s still possible, but it’s getting down to the wire.

Continue reading Friday Live Blog – February 12, 2021

Thursday Live Blog – February 11, 2021

Thursday, February 11
Scores Stream
1:00pm ET/10:00am PT – [7] Denver @ West Virginia LINK ESPN+
2:00pm ET/11:00am PT – Northern Illinois @ Central Michigan LINK ESPN+

It’s going to be another make-it-work day for Denver as only a limited roster made the trip to West Virginia. They say five people didn’t make the trip.

The news of the day so far is that Iowa State has pulled out of Metroplex for COVID things.

Continue reading Thursday Live Blog – February 11, 2021

Wednesday Live Blog – February 10, 2021

Wednesday, February 10
Scores Stream
5:00pm ET/2:00pm PT – [11] BYU @ [10] UCLA LINK FREE

A rare Wednesday live blog, as UCLA competes in its third meet of the season while BYU is already doing its 6th like it’s a normal season. In a rare development, this UCLA home meet is also free for anyone to watch.

Sekai Wright enters the vault lineup for UCLA to give them six there. Ulias and Dennis replace Taubman and Tratz on bars. Sakti will exhibition on floor. So these look like slightly fuller lineups with some depth progress made.

Everyone else: *Model struts down this makeshift runway for intros*
Marz: I’M SPIDERMAN

The Shapiros reciting a Maya Angelou poem before the meet might be the peakest of Peak UCLA.

Continue reading Wednesday Live Blog – February 10, 2021

Monday Live Blog  – February 8, 2021

I didn’t almost forget about this meet. You almost forgot about this meet.

On the Pac-12 Network. Scores here.

“They’re not great.” Oh, this season.

Rotation 1

Thomas – VT – UW – Ylayout first vault – medium lunge back – small pike. 9.525

M Dagen – UB – OSU – good first hs – bail, legs together – toe on to toe shoot, solid – hitting casts – toe on to giant full to double tuck – late on giant full – hop back on double tuck. Good. Not 10 start. 9.750

Continue reading Monday Live Blog  – February 8, 2021

Sunday Live Blog – February 7, 2021

Sunday, February 7
Scores Stream
1:00pm ET/10:00am PT – [17] Iowa State @ West Virginia LINK ESPN+
4:00pm ET/1:00pm PT – [5] Oklahoma, Temple @ [8] Denver LINK DU($)
4:00pm ET/1:00pm PT – [17] Michigan State, [20] Illinois @ Ohio State LINK BTN
5:00pm ET/2:00pm PT – Rutgers @ Nebraska LINK BTN+
5:00pm ET/2:00pm PT – Air Force, TWU @ Centenary   FREE

If you’ve subscribed to the Denver stream, they now have dedicated streams for each of the three teams. If you haven’t subscribed, let the rest of us know what’s happening in that Ohio State tri-meet.

Touch warmup has started now. Denver on vault, Oklahoma on bars, Temple on beam.

OU has put Deniz on beam in the third spot. Deniz also on floor instead of LaPinta. Quinn Smith vaulting. I’m very distressed by Denver’s posted 5-member lineups everywhere except floor.

Rotation 1

Ruiz – VT – Denver – hit full good control, just a bit short, hop in place. 9.775

Thomas – UB – OU – solid jaeger – hits her vertical on bail, nice cast hs on high – DLO, stuck landing. Pretty start.

Oster has a check on a kickover front first up for Temple on beam.

Thompson – VT – DU – also controls her full landing, better distance than Ruiz but more of a pike, small hop in place.

Continue reading Sunday Live Blog – February 7, 2021

Saturday Live Blog – February 6, 2021

Saturday, February 6
Scores Stream
3:00pm ET/12:00pm PT – [19] Cal @ [21] Arizona LINK FREE
3:00pm ET/12:00pm PT – [3] Utah @ [16] Arizona State LINK P12N
3:00pm ET/12:00pm PT – SEMO @ Illinois State LINK  
4:00pm ET/1:00pm PT – [11] Minnesota @ [10] Iowa LINK ESPNU
4:00pm ET/1:00pm PT – Ball State, Western Michigan, Kent State @ Eastern Michigan LINK ESPN3
4:00pm ET/1:00pm PT – [24] North Carolina, Pittsburgh, Towson @ NC State LINK ACCN
8:00pm ET/5:00pm PT – [23] Utah State @ [25] Boise State LINK FREE

We’ve got a flurry of simultaneous good ones today. Meanwhile, EMU’s meet had to cancel the live stream because of staffing issues. And once again, George Washington has been forced to cancel a meet as tomorrow’s dual against New Hampshire is postponed. Sigh.

Also remember those scores from last night? Me too.

Touch has started for Cal and Arizona. Scoreboard says no Perea in lineups for Cal. Though we do see Watterson’s name on the list this time, in for Schank on beam.

Can someone explain why Arizona is the Wildcats but their thing is “bear down”? Are you cats or bears? Make up your mind.

Two Pac-12 meets simultaneous, so it will be like a quad. Then we get Minnesota/Iowa in the mix.

Continue reading Saturday Live Blog – February 6, 2021